Skip to content

Cart

Your cart is empty

WE WANT TO MOVE MOUNTAINS




Muntagnard is Romansh and means "mountain man". As a Swiss fashion company with roots in GraubĂŒnden, we want to explore new, unknown paths to promote sustainable innovations and make them tangible. For us, sustainability is not a goal, but the actual starting point and a lever for innovation and continuous development.




We focus on the circular economy concept and combine it with Swiss quality standards to develop timeless favorite pieces.
We want to offer you high-quality and stylish fashion that you can not only wear with pride, but that also represents a statement that you are ready to break new ground and value timeless quality.
We offer you sustainable and innovative clothing that is optimized for quality and comfort. For us, sustainability is not just a goal, but the starting point and driving force for innovation and continuous improvement. Experience fashion that not only looks good, but also feels good.
We develop our products from scratch, from material to function, to create the best possible garments for you. Our goal is to identify the key challenges and create relevant, innovative solutions. We want to offer you peace of mind with products you love.




«We are convinced that today’s
global challenges require entrepreneurial solutions that challenge existing conventions and show new, innovative ways of doing business.»

Co-founder Dario P.





History of origin

Founding of Muntagnard

After around 10 months of intensive research by the two founders, Muntagnard GmbH was founded in spring 2018. At the time, it was intended as a groundbreaking side project to show the textile world that clothing can be both high quality and sustainable. Who could have known back then that this journey would go on so much further?

Own material development

The actual foundation stone for Muntagnard was laid in 2019. The goal was to use the mostly unused Swiss wool again for high-quality fashion. Since no one made such woven fabrics from Swiss wool anymore, the two Muntagnard founders threw themselves into the development themselves and, together with Swiss and Italian partners, created the fabric for the iconic Swiss wool coats LANA.

Market entry

The first Muntagnard product was launched in January 2020. The LEGNA T-shirt was such a sensation at the time due to its composition and construction that it was named the world's first certified plastic-free garment ( here ). To this day, the LEGNA T-shirt made of wood fibers is the absolute bestseller at Muntagnard and can no longer be imagined without it in the product portfolio.

Winter protection

Unfortunately, the Corona pandemic also hit Muntagnard at the worst possible time. After putting everything on one card, no more garments could be produced from April 2020 because all production partners were in lockdown. Due to a request from the canton of GraubĂŒnden, the team worked on a new project during this time: masks for winter sports. A mask solution was developed within a very short time that provided thousands of snow enthusiasts with additional protection during the pandemic.

#color_dark blue

The restart

For almost 1.5 years, Muntagnard's focus was almost exclusively on the distribution of winter masks and the actual core business had to be put on hold due to production losses. Of course, there was diligent development in the background so that the actual launch of the Muntagnard clothing brand could be made in autumn 2021. At this point, the transformed Muntagnard AG already had several employees and the focus was once again exclusively on outerwear for women and men. The first LANA jacket made in Switzerland was launched in September 2021, an enormously defining milestone for the still young company.

Sustainably innovative

In 2022, we continued to work hard. In addition to coats, sweaters and T-shirts made from natural fibers, the product portfolio was supplemented with the award-winning MIUtec line. A product line that is dedicated to the reinterpretation of functional clothing and where jackets are once again the focus. In November 2022, the hard development work was even rewarded with the prestigious ISPO Award. In collaboration with the Swiss Innovation Unit, the MIUtec Iso jacket not only received an ISPO Award, but also won the audience award as the most innovative product of the year.

New ways

After initial attempts in retail trading with selected retail partners, Muntagnard decided at the end of 2022 to focus its strategy on a pure direct-to-consumer brand. This means that since the beginning of 2023, Muntagnard products have been sold exclusively through the company's own channels. This new path was further reinforced with the opening of the Muntagnard flagship store in Chur.

The Swiss fashion brand

As one of the few remaining Swiss fashion brands, the focus remains on Switzerland. Sustainable textile innovations can be experienced through our own online shop and additional Muntagnard shops in strategically relevant locations. With the opening of the next Muntagnard shop in the heart of Zurich in March 2024, the brand identity and positioning will be further strengthened.


The way we talk about sustainability is different.

For us, sustainability is a springboard, not an end point.

It is a lever for innovation, for further development, for improvement.

We never stop developing.

We are inspired by the wild unknown.

We dare to go on not committed ways.

Courage lies in the exploration.

Inspiration lies in naivety.

We see adventures in uncertainty.

The most beautiful things are those that we rediscover.

For us, less means.

Less hustle and bustle, less uncertainty, less of the same.

Less because someone else said we should do it.

React less and act more.

More simplicity, more satisfaction, without compromises.

Go more your own way, without a doubt.

On Cloud 7

Lana

Innovative wood fiber

Legna

Sustainable cotton

Mangola

The future of sport

Miutec

Zum Inhalt springen

Warenkorb

Dein Warenkorb ist leer

WIR WOLLEN BERGE VERSETZEN




Muntagnard ist Romanisch und bedeutet «Bergler». Als Schweizer Modeunternehmen mit Bündner Wurzeln wollen wir neue, unbekannte Wege gehen, um nachhaltige Innovationen voranzutreiben und erlebbar zu machen. Nachhaltigkeit ist für uns kein Ziel, sondern der eigentliche Startpunkt und ein Hebel für Innovation und kontinuierliche Weiterentwicklung.




Wir stellen den Kreislaufwirtschaftsgedanken ins Zentrum und verbinden diesen mit dem Schweizer Qualitätsanspruch, um zeitlose Lieblingsstücke zu entwickeln.

Wir wollen dir hochwertige und stilvolle Mode bieten, die du nicht nur mit Stolz tragen kannst, sondern auch als Statement dafür steht, dass du bereit bist, neue Wege zu beschreiten und aktiv einen Schritt in eine nachhaltigere Zukunft zu machen.

Wir treiben nachhaltige Innovationen voran und machen sie erlebbar. Nachhaltigkeit ist für uns kein Ziel, sondern der eigentliche Startpunkt und Hebel für Innovation und kontinuierliche Weiterentwicklung.

Wir überdenken Produkte unvoreingenommen vom Material zur Funktion, um die bestmögliche Version zu entwickeln. Wir stellen nicht einfach Produkte her. Wir identifizieren die wesentlichen Herausforderungen und versuchen, relevante und neue Lösungen dafür zu entwickeln.




«Wir sind überzeugt davon, dass die heutigen
globalen Herausforderungen nach unternehmerischen Lösungen verlangen, die bestehende Konventionen herausfordern und neue, innovative Wege des Wirtschaftens aufzeigen.»

Mitgründer Dario P.





Entstehungsgeschichte

Gründung Muntagnard

Nach ca. 10 Monaten intensiver Recherche durch die beiden Gründer, wurde im Frühling 2018 die Muntagnard GmbH gegründet. Damals angedacht als wegweisendes Nebenprojekt, um der Textilwelt zu zeigen, dass Kleidung sowohl hochwertig als auch nachhaltig sein kann. Wer konnte damals wissen, dass diese Reise noch so viel weiter geht.

Eigene Stoffentwicklung

Der eigentliche Grundstein für Muntagnard wurde 2019 geleget. Das Ziel war es, die meist ungenutzte Schweizer Wolle wieder für hochwertige Mode einzusetzen. Da niemand mehr aus Schweizer Wolle derartige Webstoffe fertigte, haben sich die beiden Muntagnard Gründer selbst in die Entwicklung gestürzt und zusammen mit Schweizer und Italienischen Partnern, den Stoff für die ikonischen Schweizer Wollmäntel LANA kreiert.

Markteintritt

Im Januar 2020 wurde das erste Muntagnard Produkt lanciert. Das LEGNA T-Shirt war aufgrund seiner Zusammensetzung und Konstruktion damals eine derartige Sensation, dass es zum weltweit ersten zertifiziert plastikfreien Kleidungsstück gekürt wurde (hier). Bis heute ist das LEGNA T-Shirt aus Holzfasern der absolute Bestseller bei Muntagnard und nicht mehr aus dem Produktportfolio wegzudenken.

Winterschutz

Leider traf die Corona Pandemie auch Muntagnard zum ungünstigsten Zeitpunkt. Nachdem alles auf eine Karte gesetzt wurde, konnten ab April 2020 keine Kleidungsstücke mehr nachproduziert werden, da sämtliche Produktionspartner im Lockdown waren. Aufgrund einer Anfrage über den Kanton Graubünden, beschäftigte sich das Team während dieser Zeit mit einem neuen Projekt: Masken für den Wintersport. Innert kürzester Zeit wurde eine Maskenlösung entwickelt, die tausenden Schneebegeisterten während der Pandemie zusätzlichen Schutz geboten hat.

#color_dark blue

Der Neustart

Während knapp 1.5 Jahren lag der Fokus von Muntagnard fast ausschliesslich auf dem Vertrieb von Wintermasken und das eigentliche Kerngeschäft musste aufgrund der Produktionsausfälle auf Eis gelegt werden. Natürlich wurde im Hintergrund fleissig weiterentwickelt, sodass im Herbst 2021 der eigentliche Start der Kleidermarke Muntagnard gemacht werden konnte. Die umgewandelte Muntagnard AG zählte zu diesem Zeitpunkt bereits mehrere Mitarbeiter und der Fokus lag wieder ausschliesslich auf Oberbekleidung für Damen und Herren. Im September 2021 wurde auch die erste LANA Jacke made in Switzerland lanciert, ein enorm prägender Meilenstein für das noch junge Unternehmen.

Nachhaltig Innovativ

Im Jahr 2022 wurde fleissig weiter getüftelt. Das Produktportfolio wurde nebst Mänteln, Pullovern und T-Shirtrs aus Naturfasern mit der preisgekrönten MIUtec Linie ergänzt. Eine Produktlinie, die sich der Neuinterpretation von Funktionskleidung verschreibt und wo abermals die Jacken im Zentrum stehen. Im November 2022 wurde die harte Entwicklungsarbeit gar mit dem prestigeträchtigen ISPO-Award belohnt. In Zusammenarbeit mit der Schweizerischen Innovation Unit erhielt die MIUtec Iso Jacke nicht nur einen ISPO Award, sondern gewann zudem den Publikumspreis als innovativstes Produkt des Jahres.

Neue Wege

Nach anfänglichen Gehversuchen im Detailhandeln mit ausgewählten Retail-Partnern, entschied man sich bei Muntagnard Ende 2022 zur Strategiefokussierung auf eine reine Direct-to-Consumer Marke. Das bedeutet, seit Anfang 2023 werden Muntagnard Produkte exklusiv über die unternehmenseigenen Kanäle vertrieben. Mit der Eröffnung des Muntagnard Flagship Stores in Chur wurde dieser neue Weg zusätzlich untermauert.

Die Schweizer Modemarke

Als eine der wenigen verbliebenen Schweizer Modemarken, wird weiter auf den Standort Schweiz fokussiert. Über den eigenen Onlineshop sowie zusätzliche Muntagnard Shops an strategisch relevanten Orten, werden nachhaltige Textilinnovationen erlebbar gemacht. Mit der Eröffnung im März 2024 des nächsten Muntagnard Shops mitten im Herzen von Zürich, wird die Markenidentität und Positionierung zusätzlich gestärkt.


Die Art und Weise, wie wir über Nachhaltigkeit sprechen, ist anders.

Für uns ist Nachhaltigkeit ein Sprungbrett, nicht ein Endpunkt.

Sie ist ein Hebel für Innovation, für Weiterentwicklung, für die Verbesserung.

Wir hören nie damit auf, uns zu entwickeln.

Wir lassen uns vom wilden Unbekannten inspirieren.

Wir wagen uns auf nicht begangene Wege.

In der Erkundung liegt Mut.

In der Naivität liegt Inspiration.

Wir sehen Abenteuer in der Ungewissheit.

Die schönsten Dinge sind die, die wir neu entdecken.

Für uns bedeutet weniger mehr.

Weniger Hektik, weniger Ungewissheit, weniger vom Gleichen.

Weniger, weil jemand anderes gesagt hat, wir sollten es tun.

Weniger reagieren und mehr agieren.

Mehr Einfachheit, mehr Zufriedenheit, ohne Kompromisse.

Mehr den eigenen Weg gehen, ohne Zweifel.

Auf Wollke 7

LANA

Innovative Holzfaser

LEGNA

Nachhaltige Baumwolle

MANGOLA

Die Zukunft des Sports

MIUtec